Yarmouth Rotary Club Installs New Board, Officers, President

Filed Under: More News

The Rotary Club of Yarmouth recently installed its new board of directors, officers and president at its annual meeting at The Loft Restaurant in South Yarmouth.

Roby Whitehouse, Assistant Public Works Director for the Town of Yarmouth, was installed as president. Kevin Lennon, a Past President and Yarmouth’s Deputy Chief of Police, served as the master of ceremonies during the evening. As part of the installation ceremony, Past District Governor Stephen Albright swore in the incoming president and board of directors for the new fiscal year.

Several awards were presented to Rotarians in recognition of their volunteer efforts:

  • Rotarian of the Year – The Rotarian of the Year award was presented to Ken Knell for spearheading the Adopt An Island program, where the island at Bakers Square in West Yarmouth and gardens at Yarmouth Town Hall are maintained.
  • Service Above Self – This award was presented to Jill Albright for all of her work in Youth Exchange, and chairing many committees within the club.
  • President’s Award – This year’s President’s Award was presented to Barbara Adams for her tremendous work in spearheading fundraising efforts that benefitted children in need in the community. Her committee, under Barbara’s leadership, raised in excess of $20,000 in the past year.
  • Perfect Attendance Awards – This is for Rotarians who do not miss a meeting and make sure they are active and engaged members of the club and community. Honored were John Herr,  54 years; Jimmy Walker, 33 years;  Curt Sears, 15 years; Steve Albright, 14 years; Jill Albright, eight years and Rufus Jones, two years.

During her first address to the club, Whitehouse applauded the membership for their commitment to community and being exceptional citizens of it. She introduced the 2022-23 Rotary International theme, “Imagine Rotary.”

“We make a difference every year for the students of our local schools, for youth of families in tough financial situations, for the residents of Champ Homes, and through beautification projects throughout Yarmouth and the Cape,” said Whitehouse in her remarks. “Some deliver food for Meals on Wheels or volunteer at the Food Pantry. We get up each day knowing that we can make a difference and doing well for our community, both locally and globally. Through fundraising efforts, we are able to help the most vulnerable in our community and also raise awareness. I’m proud to belong to a club that is making a difference.”

Officers and Directors sworn in during the installation ceremony were:

  • President Elect – Jill Albright
  • Vice President – James Seymour
  • Secretary – Mary Lenihan
  • Treasurer – Stephen Albright
  • Community Service Director – Paul Chatelain
  • International Service Director – Jacqueline Carnevali
  • Vocational Service Director – Hollie Handrahan
  • Club Administration Director – Rufus Jones
  • Public Image Director – John Cooke
  • New Generations Director – Louis Preziosi
  • Sergeant at Arms – Tomas Tolentino
  • Past President – John Gilligan