Wendy Northcross Honored With Annual OneCape Award

Filed Under: More News

The Cape Cod Commission presented Wendy Northcross with the 2021 OneCape Award during the OneCape Summit on Aug. 23.

The award was presented in recognition of her commitment to keeping Cape Cod a special place. Northcross was instrumental in developing the Cape Cod and Islands Water Protection Fund and has led the Cape on issues involving transportation, housing, and the economy.

“We are so pleased to recognize Wendy with the 2021 OneCape Award,” said Cape Cod Commission Executive Director Kristy Senatori. “Wendy has done so much for the region, and she embodies everything about the award with her leadership and dedication to Cape Cod.”

Northcross is the newly appointed executive director of the John F. Kennedy Hyannis Museum Foundation, the operator of the JFK Hyannis Museum which she co-founded in 1991. In 2021, she retired as CEO of the Cape Cod Chamber of Commerce, after a 33-year career in chamber of commerce leadership. She holds seats on the boards of The Cooperative Bank of Cape Cod, the Town of Barnstable’s Affordable Housing & Economic Growth Trust, the Association to Preserve Cape Cod and Hyannis Rotary’s Good Works Fund charitable board.  She has served in leadership roles in numerous professional and community organizations at the regional, state and national level related to economic development and tourism.  She holds the certified chamber executive designation from the Association of Chamber Executives and is a Ford Foundation Fellow for Regional Sustainable Development.

“I am proud of the work the Cape Cod Chamber has done and continues to do to address regional issues,” said Northcross. “The chamber has a great history of advocacy on issues that impact every Cape Codder. We always have better outcomes when business is at the table, especially when we are trying to solve large regional issues.”

The OneCape Award is presented annually to an individual or organization for their outstanding leadership in the community and dedication to keeping Cape Cod a special place. Past awardees include Sia Karplus, Three Bays Preservation, the Pleasant Bay Alliance, Andrew Gottlieb, Paul Niedzwiecki and Alan McClennan.